Socceroos - A World Cup Odyssey, Volume 2, 2006-2022

Socceroos - A World Cup Odyssey, Volume 2, 2006-2022


Author: John Maynard

The second of two magnificent volumes from Emeritus Professor of History, John Maynard, on the Socceroos journey through World Cup qualifying campaigns. 

Volume 2 starts with a 'new era' for the Socceroos with the first of five consecutive successful World Cup qualifying campaigns starting with Germany in 2006 through to Qatar 2022.

In that time, the team had five coaches, four captains, and made the Round of 16 twice: first with the 'Golden Generation' in 2006 losing to eventual champions Italy; and then with the 'Surprise Generation' in 2022 with their magnificent run, only dipping out to eventual champions Argentina. 

Socceroos - A World Cup Odyssey is an in-depth look at the team's history with commentary on every qualifying match, the role and decisions of governing bodies such as FIFA and Football Australia, media coverage, and the reception afforded to players and coaches. 

It is a significant history of the game: simultaneously viewed through the expert eyes of an eminent historian, and written by a passionate, lifelong fan. 

And when the last page of this significant history is turned, readers will want to keep on...with the story to North America in 2026!  

Please note that Volume 1 and Volume 2 are sold separately, but a 10% discount will be applied at checkout if both volumes are purchased at once.

More Information

Format: Softcover
Published: August 2023
ISBN: 978-1-925914-51-1
Weight: 400g
Size: 234mm x 156mm
Pages: 238 + 8 pages colour photographs
Imprint: Fair Play Publishing