The First Matildas - the 1975 Asian Ladies Championship

The First Matildas - the 1975 Asian Ladies Championship


Author: Greg Downes

The First Matildas is the story of the women who played for Australia in the Asian Cup Ladies Football Tournament held in Hong Kong in 1975. Australia took part along with teams from Hong Kong, Malaysia, New Zealand, Singapore, and Thailand. The tournament, which was the forerunner to what is known today as the Asian Football Confederation's Women's Asian Cup, was won by New Zealand with Australia placed third. 

It was a turning point for women's football in Australia. 

Author and academic Greg Downes speaks with many of the women involved in the 1975 championship, as they tell their story in their own words of how they came to wear the green and gold of Australia for the first time, and the lasting pride they have in doing so. 

The First Matildas is a fitting testament to the enduring legacy of the 16 women who formed the squad which will continue to inspire future generations of players for years to come.

More Information

Format: Paperback and E-Book
Published: June 2023
ISBN: 978-1-925914-52-8, 978-1-925914-53-5 (ePub)
Weight: 0.3kg
Size: 216mm x 140mm
Pages: 175 pages (TBC)
Imprint: Fair Play Publishing